Wednesday, 1 August 2012

Florencia, Cuba

Florencia is a municipality and city in the Ciego de Ávila Province of Cuba. It is located in the western part of the province, south of Chambas. This municipality merged in 1976 as result of the new political and administrative division of Cuba. Florencia was formerly the barrios of Guadalupe, Tamarindo and Marroquí which were separated from the municipality of Moron.

The municipality is a mountain region with beautiful rivers, forest and caves with subterranean rivers. A huge hydraulic complex was constructed under Fidel's government in 1991 named "Liberación de Florencia" ("Florencia Independence") since Florencia quarter was the first quarter taken for local revolutionary forces in the province of Camagüey on December 14, 1958. This hydraulic complex is located on the fertile valleys of Florencia and Tamarindo and it enforces the beauty of this Cuban area. Unlike all other municipalities in this province, Florencia is the only one where its economy is basically tobacco.

Florencia is also the seat of the municipal government and the biggest city with around 7,000 people. Other towns are Tamarindo, Las Pojas, Lowrey, Guadalupe and Marroquí.